Buy Online Mansun - SIX CD Media Book + Attack Of The Grey Lantern CD Media Book


SIX CD Media Book + Attack Of The Grey Lantern CD Media Book


Release Date: 22/03/2019

This multi buy includes:

  • Attack Of The Grey Lantern CD Media Book
  • SIX CD Media Book
SIX CD Media Book

One of the most audaciously brilliant albums of the ’90s remastered for its 21st anniversary. Includes the hit singles "Six", "Being A Girl", "Legacy" and “Negative”.

"A twisting maze of prog, glam and early-'80s guitar pop... No-one has done northern angst on LSD quite like this" NME

Mansun have announced details of a super-deluxe reissue of their hugely ambitious second album, SIX. The album will be issued as a Deluxe Edition 4-Disc Book, Green Double Heavyweight Vinyl LP (Limited Edition), CD Media Book and Double Black Vinyl.

Released little over a year after their No. 1 debut album, Mansun’s SIX was nothing less than a revelation. Arriving at the tail end of the Britpop era, SIX was a hugely ambitious spiralling, sprawling record that charted in the Top 10 on release and spawned four Top 40 singles.

Concept driven and spanning myriad genres, SIX was a record out of time made by a band at the peak of their creative powers - a collection of songs that fizzed with ideas and inspirations and fused elements of pop, electronica and progressive rock to Tchaikovsky sample, electronic drums and spooky synth lines. Lyrically, the songs referenced religious scepticism, Winnie the Pooh, L. Ron Hubbard, Stanley Kubrick, Orwell, Marxism and that most iconic TV show, the Prisoner. On top of all of that, the record featured a spoken word section from the legendary fourth Doctor Who - Tom Baker. The end result is a 70 minute, twelve-track brain warp, a record that would set Mansun apart from their peers forever.

One of the most iconic and innovative British bands of the late 90s, Mansun signed to the legendary record label Parlophone (home to The Beatles, Radiohead and Sigur Ros) in 1996. They released three albums – Attack of the Grey Lantern (1997) Lantern (1997), SIX (1998) and Little Kix (2000) and one posthumous compilation, Kleptomania. Kscope acquired the band’s catalogue in 2017 and are running a thorough reissue series that delves into a treasure trove of previously unreleased audio and visual material. Kscope released Mansun frontman Paul Draper’s acclaimed solo debut Spooky Action in 2017; Draper is currently working on the follow up, due for release later this year.

The audio for SIX has been fully remastered from the original master tapes by Jon Astley (Van Morrison, The Who, George Harrison, Norah Jones, Rolling Stones)

This 21st anniversary edition of SIX will be released as a 2LP on 180g heavyweight audiophile green vinyl in gatefold packaging. The audio has been fully remastered from the original master tapes.

This 21st Anniversary edition of SIX is fully remastered by Jon Astley and will be released as a CD edition with 12 page booklet.

Inverse Midas
Anti Everything
Fall Out
Witness to a Murder Part 2
Special/Blown It
Being A Girl

Bonus Track:

Tom Baker Outtakes/Isolated Studio Vocal

Attack Of The Grey Lantern CD Media Book

Mansun - one of the most iconic bands of the late ’90s - have announced details of a huge remastered reissue of their 1997 debut album, Attack of the Grey Lantern. It will be released via Kscope on June 8 th 2018.

The album will be released on multiple formats including limited coloured vinyl, standard black vinyl, single CD and super-deluxe four-disc book set (including unreleased material on CD and a new 5.1 mix on DVD). It will also be available to stream on all digital platforms.

For most rock‘n’roll bands, the debut album is a chance to properly record their nascent songs – those scrappy, speedball numbers often written in the white heat of formation. For Mansun, back in 1996, things were a little different. Formed in Chester before coming of age at Parr Street Studios in Liverpool, the band’s early ambitions marked them out as a very different prospect to their supposed peers. Their songs were mini-symphonies filtered through their perfectly British eccentricity, worked out in painstaking detail in the studio before ever being played on the stage. The lyrics told elaborate stories, followed paths and planted signposts.

When it emerged, Mansun’s debut - Attack of the Grey Lantern – was the complete picture. A record that opens with a Bond theme like orchestral overture before opening out as an interconnected voyeuristic, curtain-twitching concept album about a smalltown superhero, AOTGL was an almost incomprehensibly melodic work that embraced intelligence and nuance over the brute force and beery bonhomie of their contemporaries. When it was released at the height of Britpop, AOTGL reached No 1 (in February 1997) and achieved platinum sales thanks to a hugely dedicated fanbase.

Now twenty-one years on, the album has been fully overhauled for a gloriously deluxe reissue package remastered from the original multi-tracks by Jon Astley and with the band and Paul’s longtime studio collaborator PDub creating the 5.1 remix. The CDs of extra material include previously unheard demo recordings, studio outtakes and long unheard BBC sessions recorded prior to the album’s release. This reissue campaign also sees the record remastered for vinyl for the first time since its original release.

Attack of the Grey Lantern featured the hit singles Wide Open Space, Egg Shaped Fred, Taxloss and She Makes My Nose Bleed. Mansun were Paul Draper (vocals, guitar, production), Dominic Chad (guitar, piano, synths), Stove (bass), Andie Rathbone (drums).

This 21st anniversary edition of Attack of the Grey Lantern will be released as a CD in mediabook packaging featuring the iconic 'roses' cover art and a 16-page booklet including lyrics. The audio has been fully remastered from the original master tapes.

1. The Chad Who Loved Me [05:02]
2. Mansun's Only Love Song [05:55]
3. Taxloss [07:04]
4. You, Who Do You Hate? [03:06]
5. Wide Open Space [04:33]
6. Stripper Vicar [04:11]
7. Disgusting [05:12]
8. She Makes My Nose Bleed [03:55]
9. Naked Twister [04:39]
10. Egg Shaped Fred [04:11]
11. Dark Mavis [08:36]